Firms that ran client bookkeeping through Botkeeper are looking for alternatives because the company announced its closure on 25 February 2026, citing macroeconomic shifts and consolidation among its largest clients (Inside Public Accounting, 2026). Its site and its $53 to $149 per-entity pricing were still online in September 2026, but no firm can plan a tax season around a vendor that has said it is winding down. The practical question is what replaces the mix of automated coding and human review that Botkeeper supplied. The six options below are all firm-facing providers. Each entry gives the model, who it suits, pricing as published on the provider's site in September 2026, and the source. LedgerBPO is listed first because this is our site; the other five are described neutrally from their own pages.
How Botkeeper compares with LedgerBPO
| LedgerBPO | Botkeeper | Source | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Named dedicated accountant plus backup and team lead, embedded in your practice tools and client ledgers | Botkeeper Infinite platform: AI transaction coding with human review, licensed per client entity | botkeeper.com, Sep 2026; Master Report 2026: Botkeeper |
| Pricing as published | Custom quote; depends on volume and scope | $53 to $149 per entity per month by license tier; annual billing discounted | botkeeper.com pricing page, Sep 2026 |
| Software | Karbon, TaxDome, Canopy; QuickBooks Online, Xero, Zoho Books, Sage | Own platform layered over client ledgers; ledger list not stated on the homepage | botkeeper.com, Sep 2026 |
| Dedicated staff | Named accountant, named backup, team lead; Two-Tier Review on every close | Platform-led; dedicated services sold as an add-on | botkeeper.com, Sep 2026 |
| Invoicing and AR scope | Invoicing, reminder cadences and cash application for your clients under your brand | Not published on their site as of Sep 2026 | botkeeper.com, Sep 2026 |
| Accounts payable | Bill coding, approvals and payment runs prepared; client releases every payment | Not published on their site as of Sep 2026 | botkeeper.com, Sep 2026 |
| Billing calls | Client-branded billing help desk and receivables calls | Not offered | botkeeper.com, Sep 2026 |
| Countries served | US, UK, Canada, Australia | US firms; other markets not published as of Sep 2026 | botkeeper.com, Sep 2026 |
| Security and certifications | Security controls listed on /security/; certifications published only when held | Platform security features listed; certifications not stated on the homepage as of Sep 2026 | botkeeper.com, Sep 2026 |
| Stability and ownership | Owner-operated since 2020, month-to-month, no venture funding | Venture-backed; closure announced 25 Feb 2026 after roughly $90 million to $100 million raised | Inside Public Accounting, 25 Feb 2026; Accounting Today, 2026; Master Report 2026 |
| Best for | Firms replacing a platform with named people, close support and a billing desk | Firms that wanted automated coding at scale with exceptions reviewed in-house, while it operated | Editorial summary of the rows above |
Competitor facts as published on the dates shown. If something has changed, tell us on the corrections page.
Who should choose which
Choose LedgerBPO if
- You want to replace Botkeeper with named people who work inside each client's QuickBooks Online or Xero file.
- Your clients need invoices sent, reminders followed up and payables prepared, not only transactions coded.
- You want month-end close support with a checklist and a second reviewer on every file.
- You have clients in the UK, Canada or Australia and want one team across all four markets.
Choose Botkeeper if
- Botkeeper suited firms whose main need was first-pass coding at scale with exceptions reviewed in-house.
- It suited firms that preferred flat per-entity software pricing to seat-based staffing.
- It suited firms that wanted one dashboard across every client rather than working in each ledger.
Botkeeper alternatives compared
LedgerBPO
Owner-operated accounting and billing BPO that assigns a named accountant, backup and team lead to each firm, working in Karbon, TaxDome or Canopy and in each client's QuickBooks Online or Xero file, with white-label bookkeeping, close support, tax-prep support and a client-branded billing desk.
QX Accounting Services
Division of QX Global Group with 22 years in business, 1,100+ accountants and delivery centers in India and Mexico, serving firms in the UK, USA, Australia, Canada and Ireland with bookkeeping, payroll, tax, audit support and advisory.
MYCPE ONE
Combined CPE platform and offshore staffing business created when Entigrity merged with MYCPE in 2024; 3,000+ staff across India, the Philippines and Mexico serving US, Canadian and UK firms.
Acculink CPA
Accounting-firm-only offshore provider with 300+ staff, maker-checker review and stated SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, IRS Β§7216 and FTC Safeguards compliance, covering bookkeeping, month-end close, tax preparation, audit support and payroll.
Etisson
Offshore bookkeeping, close and finalization, controller, catch-up and tax-support team for US firms, with offices in New Jersey and India, a 40-hour free pilot and 48-hour onboarding as published.
TOA Global
Philippines-based staffing company with 4,232+ team members and 1,258+ clients, placing accountants, bookkeepers and auditors with firms in North America, Australia and New Zealand, with its own training institute.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best Botkeeper alternative for a small firm?
It depends on whether you need software or people. Firms with under 25 client entities usually need a dedicated bookkeeper who works in each client file rather than another platform. LedgerBPO, Etisson and Acculink CPA all offer named or dedicated staff; Etisson and Acculink publish rates by role or hour, and LedgerBPO quotes by volume and scope. Larger firms with dozens of seats may find QX Accounting Services or MYCPE ONE a closer fit for scale.
Which Botkeeper alternatives publish their prices?
Etisson publishes $2,200 to $3,500 per month by role, Acculink CPA publishes $8 to $35 per hour, MYCPE ONE publishes rates from $11 per hour, and QX shows indicative offshore ranges of $8 to $30 per hour on its USA pricing page (provider sites, Sep 2026). TOA Global does not publish rates. LedgerBPO quotes by volume and scope, with a custom quote within 1 business day. Botkeeper's own page still shows $53 to $149 per entity per month.
How long does it take to migrate clients off Botkeeper?
Plan two to six weeks for a typical firm, depending on how many entities have unreconciled periods. The steps are the same for any provider: export ledgers and reports, confirm the last reconciled month per client, rebuild open periods in QuickBooks Online or Xero, and run the first close with a second reviewer. LedgerBPO handles this as a catch-up project before monthly service starts. See the catch-up bookkeeping service page for the checklist.
Do Botkeeper alternatives include AI automation?
Most of the providers listed rely on the automation already inside QuickBooks Online and Xero, such as bank rules, matching and recurring transactions, rather than a separate AI layer. QX lists MailerDesk and Robo1040 automation tools (qxaccounting.com, Sep 2026). LedgerBPO configures bank rules and payout matching in the client's own file, and its ReconBot workflow logs exceptions for the named accountant to clear. No second platform means nothing to migrate if you change providers again.
Which alternatives handle receivables and billing calls for our clients?
LedgerBPO includes white-label invoicing, reminder cadences, cash application and client-branded billing calls in scope for firm clients. Acculink CPA and Etisson list accounts receivable and accounts payable tasks among their bookkeeping capabilities (provider sites, Sep 2026). QX, MYCPE ONE and TOA Global do not publish phone-based billing support as of Sep 2026. Calls run under the client's brand and follow TCPA rules in the US; see the billing calls service page.
Sources
- Botkeeper pricing page (Sep 2026)
- Inside Public Accounting, Botkeeper announces closure after 11 years (25 Feb 2026)
- Accounting Today, What brought down Botkeeper (2026)
- QX Accounting Services USA pricing page (Sep 2026)
- MYCPE ONE offshore accounting services (Sep 2026)
- CPA Practice Advisor, Entigrity merges with MYCPE and rebrands as MYCPE ONE (Nov 2024)
- Acculink CPA homepage (Sep 2026)
- Etisson homepage (Sep 2026)
- TOA Global homepage (Sep 2026)
Ask an AI assistant to summarize this page
Opens the assistant with a prefilled prompt so you can check our claims against the page yourself.
